A Breath of Fresh Air

I had a great day yesterday. My favorite kind of day is a day when I can just stay home all day and play homeschool mom. I didn’t get to do that for the whole day but let me tell you about my idea of a perfect homeschool day.

My day currently begins at 5am when the alarm sounds.

I climb out of bed and shut off the alarm. Then, I climb the steps in the dark so I won’t wake my three boys that sleep in the open room at the top of the steps. I step carefully because occassionally 🙂 there is something to step on! Then, I proceed to my son Jesse’s room. Be careful where you step in there, too.

Then, I switch on his light and speak a gentle “good morning” to him to get his day off to a good start.  I creep back down the steps and turn on the little lamp over the microwave, get my Bible and glasses, put on the hot water for Jess and go to the chair in the living room to read.

I usually finish up my quiet time about 30 minutes after Jesse leaves for work. Then, my day really gets going. I usually check my email and write a few notes.

Then I holler for the kids to come down and start breakfast. Andrea and Seth are usually the first ones up. We all have breakfast and then start our work. We usually do our math and reading first. We try to get as much done as we can early. Then, we go for a walk at noon and then come back and eat lunch. If the kids have their seat work done they can work on projects.

*****************************************************************************

Yesterday, I had to leave around 1:30 pm to take Jer to his orientation. But, project time went well without me. Chel made apple crisp and apple butter, Lois sanded a big cherry dresser and the leaves in my new table. When I got home I made a stir fry and we took our table, chairs, plates and silver and the apple crisp to Jer and Lisa’s house.

Jer and Lisa and Rayne live just a block from the old school building where our church is currently meeting. The kids walked and Jim and I took the van. It was  a beautiful night.

When church was over we headed for home so Jim could go right to bed.

Jim got up around 12:30 am to drive a CSX truck to Buffalo, N.Y.  He is on his way home now and will go on to Knoxville later today.

Well, that is my day.

******************************************************************************

We love our new home way out in the country. The lane to the house must be a half a mile long. There are two ponds and lots of woods. There is even an old outhouse and a bridge.

The house has just enough room for our family to squeeze into. There are three bedrooms upstairs. One room is for Chelsie (17), Lois (15), and Andrea (7). Jesse (19) has the other little room, and then Tim (14), Seth (12), and Andy (9) share a rather large area at the top of the steps. Downstairs there is a fair sized country kitchen with my computer desk, two tables and some huge windows for a beautiful view of country side in two directions.

There is  a comfy room for living with our TV, couch, chairs, bookshelves and Jim’s desk and the piano.

Our bedroom is large with lots of bookshelves and windows all around on two sides. We have a pencil post bed way up high and a white and blue calico quilt. (Very homey)

There is a bathroom off our room and one off the kitchen. We do our laundry in the basement.

Outside there are many barns and a chicken coop which we hope to put to use soon.

This is our little slice of heaven on earth. We like this old country home with its many porches and windows. The view is glorious in all directions.

I especially like to look at the house from the ridge to the east of the house.

The sunrises and sunsets are to die for.

Praise the Lord for all He has done in our lives and the lives of our children.

We are a long way from perfect but God is definately working on us.

We praise Him for all He is doing. We are humbled by His goodness to us.

Our family adopted a verse while we were traveling. I would like to cross-stitch it and get it framed and put up in a visible spot here.

Jeremiah 29:11  “For I know the plans I have for you,” decalares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Breath of Fresh Air

  1. Your house and the area around it sounds lovely. I’m sure it’s warm and inviting.

  2. Jennifer

    Sounds so charming. I feel like I am there smelling your bread baking. Love you, Melony.

  3. Hillary

    Hi Mom, I enjoyed my visit at you B&B last weekend! And I’m looking forward to coming again soon!
    I’m so glad that you all have such a sweet, cozy place!
    I love you!

  4. Wow! I can’t wait to see it in person this weekend. Your description of it has made me more excited! I love you all!

    -Rachel

  5. Hey; I just discovered this site. Nice. Keep up your good posts and let me know and I will send people your way. I love you.

  6. Reblogged this on Melony Pierpont Evans and commented:
    Enjoyed rereading this post of ten years back when life was a bit different. I told someone at work the other day that I never had to use an alarm clock but reading this reminded me that was the only way to have privacy for quiet time. 🙂 It was a fun reminder!! God is so good.

  7. John and Carol Alexander

    Good morning,

    Glad ya’ll are doing well. We miss you and don’t understand why things happen the way they do but we now have another Pastor and he is a Spirit Filled Preacher! He doesn’t even need notes, just his Bible, so God is Blessing us and we are very Thankful!

    Carol and I think of you often and happy that God brought you and your family into our lives and we have you on our prayer list that God will continue to guide you to do whatever He has planned for you. We hope that our paths will come together again someday, at least for a visit. We love you and have a JESUS FILLED YEAR!

    John and Carol Alexander

Leave a Reply

